Target ACOS = Margin before PPC (Break-Even ACOS) - Target Margin after PPC
The ACoS metric and how it can be interepreted correctly is explained in more detail in this article (click here).
After substracting all costs, the margin for the product in this example (without costs for PPC) is at 20%.
It is therefore possible to to spend 20% of the revenue on ad spend without making losses.
Determining a Target ACOS thus depends on how much margin the product is targeting when PPC costs are included. In this example it was decided the margin should be at least 5%, so that the ACOS must not be higher than 15%. This is consequently the Target ACOS.
How high should my Target ACOS / Margin be?
Deciding on a target ACOS also means deciding on how much margin you want to have for each product sale.
That decision mainly depends on whether your primary goal is more in the direction of generating as many sales as possible (to let your company / brand grow more quickly), or whether your focus tends to be more about being very profitable.
Calculation of Break Even ACOS within Profit Dashboard
In the Sellics Profit dashboard, simply click into a product to have the upper graphs adapt to that specific product's numbers only. If you select today's timeframe, it will definitely not include PPC costs.
Adding Target ACoS in Adgroups Tab
Within the Optimize tab of the Sellics PPC Manager, you can enter or upload your adgroups' target ACoS, which can then be used within your automation rules.